One year ago today I started this blog and it has been a really fun year of trying and sharing new recipes and interacting with all of you wonderful people via this blog!  I have thoroughly enjoyed this year and am looking forward to many more!  I thought it would be appropriate to celebrate one year with at Chocolate Covered Recipe and I chose to feature these Turtle Cheesecake Truffles adapted from Steamy Kitchen’s blog!  I made them for my Mother-in-law’s 60th birthday party and they were a huge hit!  They are easy to make and are absolutely STUNNING on the plate!  They are not overly sweet but are very rich and are perfect for a party!  They also keep very well in the fridge for a couple days if you need to make them ahead of time.

I ALSO thought I would start off my second year of blogging with my first GIVEAWAY!  I am going to make a batch of my Famous Chocolate Chip Cookies for one lucky reader!  The rules are simple:  All you need to do to enter is to be a subscriber of my blog and leave a comment on this post!  I will then randomly pick a winner and contact you via email to find out where to send the cookies!  This giveaway is unfortunately restricted to within the USA.  Good luck to all!

TURTLE CHEESECAKE TRUFFLES

  • 1 8 oz block of Cream Cheese ( I used the 1/3 fat variety)  Make sure it has softened at room temperature
  • 1 cup of Graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 teaspoon of Vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 8oz package of Baker’s SemiSweet Chocolate Squares ( or candy melts if you prefer)
  • 1/4 cup Caramel Sauce or melted caramels.

The first step is to mix your room temperature Cream Cheese, Vanilla, Powdered sugar and Graham Cracker Crumbs all together in bowl.

Next form the mixture into bite-sized balls.  This recipe should make 15-17 Truffles.  Place them on a piece of wax paper and freeze the balls for 10-15 minutes to let them harden up a bit.

While the cheesecake balls are freezing melt your chocolate and chop up your pecans!  Then you will be ready for dipping!

Using two forks, dip each cheesecake ball into the chocolate and then back onto the wax paper.  Immediately top with a few chopped pecans.  Continue until all of the delicious little morsels have been dipped and topped!  If there is leftover chocolate…it is perfectly ok to lick both the bowl and the two forks at this point!

You are now only moments away from finishing these beauties…and they really are VERY beautiful!

Now take a fork and drizzle the top of each truffle with your caramel sauce!  It will be drippy, sticky and gooey and fabulous!

Now place the finished tray of Truffles (minus 1 that you might have eaten for quality control) back in the fridge for at least an hour to harden up and then serve whenever you would like!

Thank you for a WONDERFUL year and I hope that you will continue to come and visit for the next 10!

Happy Truffling!