St. Patrick’s Day is a really fun holiday to celebrate, especially if you have some shred of Irish Heritage…which a lot of us do!  My middle name is Eavvie, named after my Great Grandma Eavvie Sharrock.  Even though I am probably only 1/8 or less Irish, I have always identified with that part of my heritage for some reason and LOVE celebrating St. Patty’s Day!  I usually choose to make Baily’s Chocolate Milk Shakes, but as I am pregnant that was not an option for this certain holiday.  I decided to make Guinness Shepherd’s Pie as the alcohol would be totally cooked out, but the flavor would remain!  The picture of this dish might not look super appetizing, but this was hands down the BEST Shepherd’s Pie I have ever eaten.  We will definitely be making this again…and I will not be waiting a whole year to do so!


GUINNESS SHEPHERD’S PIE

  • 7 oz Guinness (half of a 14 oz can)
  • 1 lb of Ground Beef
  • 1 can of French Cut Green Beans
  • 1 can of Tomato Soup
  • 5 medium Yukon Gold Potatoes
  • 1/2 Cup Sour Cream
  • 1/2 Cup 1% Milk
  • 1 Cup Grated Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 Cup chopped Carrots
  • 1 Cup Chopped Yellow Onion
  • 4 Tbls Butter
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Paprika

The very first step is to start your Mashed Potatoes if you are making those from scratch.  I washed and chopped my Yukon Golds and put them in a pot to Boil.  It takes about 25 minutes for them to get to a Mashable state.  Next step is to chop your onions and carrots.   This can be a one Pan dish if you have the right pan.  I used my Big Iron Skillet, which I LOVE!  Now melt 2 Tbls of your butter and then sautee your veggies for about 3-4 minutes until just softening.

Then put your veggies aside in a small bowl.  They will be added back after you cook the beef.

Now add your beef into Hot Skillet and cook until browned.  I like to season the meat at this point with salt, pepper, and some Garlic Powder.

I used ground beef with a slightly higher percentage of Fat than normal for the recipe and so took the time to spoon off some of the grease before continuing on.  I just tilted the pan and let the Grease drain to one side and then spooned it out of the pan.  You don’t want your final mix of beef and veggies to be too soupy or fatty.

NOW ITS TIME FOR THE GUINNESS!!   Don’t worry…I didn’t drink any.  My husband drank the leftovers with dinner!   Pour half of the 14 oz can directly into your Beef and stir to combine.


Immediately add back the Carrots and Onions as they will continue to cook in the Beef Guinness Mixture and will also absorb some of the yummy flavors of the Guinness!  Simmer this whole mix for about 6-8 minutes so all of the alcohol and a lot of the liquid cooks down.  Also add in the Paprika and the rest of the Garlic Powder at this time.  I also liberally season with Salt and Pepper.  You can always add more salt later so use your own discretion and taste buds here!

My Potatoes were done at this point so I took the time to mash them while the beef, veggies and Guinness were simmering.  I added my last 2 Tbls of butter  and my milk and then mashed the potatoes.  After well mashed I added in the sour cream and seasoned  the whole mix with salt and pepper.  Make sure to taste your potatoes to make sure they are seasoned well.  You want them to taste good on their own right as they make up a good portion of the finished PIE!  YUM!  YOU ARE SO CLOSE!

Now your Beef mixture should be ready to Go.  Preheat your Oven to 375 Degrees and then assemble your Pie!

Evenly distribute the Green Beans over the Beef Mixture, and then Evenly Spread the Tomato Sauce over the Green Beans.

Then Evenly Mound and Spread your homemade, delectable potatoes over the Tomato Soup.

At this point a Traditional Shepherds Pie probably wouldn’t put cheese on top, but I am not totally Irish and I think that Cheese should be a part of any dish when possible!  So at this point, if you are so inclined, sprinkle your cheesy cheese over the top of the Potatoes and your Pie is assembled and ready to cook!  Actually it is pretty much fully cooked, you just want everything to heat and meld together and for your cheese to melt!

Bake the Whole Pie for 15 Minutes at 375 degrees or until the edges and the cheese are bubbling and you cannot wait one more second to dig into it!  The Smell in your house will be OUT OF THIS WORLD…and you will be salivating with the intense desire to EAT!  

I have made Shepherd’s Pie lots of times and always have enjoyed it.  However the simple addition of the Guinness and the “braising” of the ground beef and veggies in the beer create this RICH and Fabulous flavor!  You simply MUST try this dish and let me know what you think!

I was going to garnish my bowl with some fresh herbs, but I could not wait one more second to eat and barely had time to take this photo before digging in!  In the future I might also make these in individual Ramekins which I think would be really really cute!

Happy Shepherd’s PIEING, and Happy St. Patricks Day!

