These Potato Pancakes were sort of an experiment…and a lovely experiment at that!  I had a bunch of potato pulp left over from  scooping out the insides of my potato skins and wasn’t sure what to do with it.  I decided to try and make some potato pancakes and the results were tasty, cheesy and delicious!  I highly recommend trying this recipe if you find yourself with leftover mashed potatoes, or potato pulp of any kind!  I used cheddar cheese in these particular pancakes, but I think parmesan, blue cheese, or any other mix of cheese might be fabulous in these!  You might even want to mash up some potatoes just to make this recipe…it is that good!

Potato Pancakes

  • 2-3 Cups of Potato Pulp or Mashed Potatoes
  • 1/4 Cup Heavy Cream
  • 1 Tbls Mayo
  • 1 tsp yellow mustard
  • 1 egg
  • salt and pepper to your liking
  • garlic powder to your liking
  • 2 Tbls minced chives
  • 3.4 cup shredded cheddar cheese  ( any kind of cheese would work!)
  • 1 Tbls butter
  • 2 Tbls Olive oil
  • 1/2 Cup Flour for dredging
  • salt, pepper and garlic for your dredge as well

First step is to mix all of your ingredients together except for the olive oil and butter and Dredging materials.

Now prepare a plate with the flour and salt and pepper.  This is what you will dredge the wet cakes in to attain the delicious crispy crust on the outside!

Now heat your butter and olive oil together until hot and ready to pan fry your cakes!

Form your potato mix into patties of whatever size you like.  I used about 1/3 cup per patty and made sure it wasn’t too thick.  Then coat each patty in the flour and seasoning mixture.

I pan fried these for about 3 minutes on each side or until a golden crust was formed!  I served them with a bit of ranch Sour Cream with chives in it, but these would be good alone or with almost any kind of delicious sauce!  YUM!  I also think these would be good as a side dish with some grilled chicken and a gorgonzola cream sauce with some Fired broccoli!  YUM!!!

I hope you enjoy these delicious Pancakes as much as we did and let me know of any cheesy changes you try!

Happy Potato Pancaking!!!

