This pregnancy has been going good so far and as I mentioned before…I have been craving Cucumbers, but I have also been craving tomatoes!   This simple salad has been a delicious and healthy choice for me as it provides lots of protein and calcium from the cheese and lots of fruit/veggie servings from the tomatoes…which even though I know they are a fruit, I still think of them as a veggie!

I know you have probably all made Caprese salads before, but this is a simple way to make a single serving for yourself or a nice side salad for a dinner party!  It is a great partner for pizza or garlic bread, or soup!  I hope you will enjoy!

CAPRESE SALAD

  • Grape Tomatoes
  • small Mozzarella balls called Caglione (after a town in italy!)  Any Mozzarella would work!
  • Fresh Basil Leaves
  • 1 Tbls Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 Tbls Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Garlic Powder

The colors of this salad are SOOOO pretty that it was hard not to take too many redundant pictures!  Please indulge me just a bit!

All you need to do is simply rinse the tomatoes, and cut the mozzarella into bite size pieces and gently chop your basil!  Then mix all the goodness together in a bowl!

Sprinkle on your seasoning to taste!  I like lots of the italian seasoning as it adds a nice burst of herby flavor!  Then drizzle on your balsamic and olive oil and toss the whole mixture to combine!

Now try not to eat the whole bowl in 2 minutes!  Savor it and maybe have a piece of rosemary garlic bread to dip in the juice at the bottom of the bowl!  YUM!  I am hungry right now!

Happy Capresing!

