photo by my friend Matt Turner

This is an old school recipe that is still around for a reason…it is awesome!  I believe it has many names and many different versions and this is simply my adaptation.  I will warn you (don’t say I didn’t warn you) it is one of the most addicting desserts ever so you might want to make a couple batches…one for yourself and one to share with others!

I was first introduced to this recipe in high school at my friend’s the Eichler’s house!  Bethany Eichler is one of my oldest and dearest friends and this dessert is one of the many important contributions she has made to my life!  This is really an easy dessert but is impressive both visually and deliciously!  I hope you will try it this holiday season and that it will make a beautiful addition to your dessert table!

For my variation I have added in butterscotch chips and coconut but both of these are optional.

SODA CRACKER DELIGHT

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 12 oz chocolate chips (or a mix of chocolate and butterscotch)
  • 1 cup finely chopped nuts, or coconut (optional)
  • 40 or so Saltine Crackers

The First step is to preheat your oven to 400 degrees, and then bring the butter and sugar to a rolling boil on your stovetop.  Boil this toffee mix for 3 minutes stirring constantly.  Add in the vanilla during the last minute of boiling!

Arrange 40 or so Saltine crackers on a foil lined baking sheet and make sure they are in an even layer.

Pour the toffee mix over the crackers using a spatula to make sure you attain an even layer of gooey goodness!

Place the crackers and toffee into the 400 degree oven for 6 minutes watching closely to make sure the sugar doesn’t burn.  After you take it out of the oven, evenly distribute all of your chocolate and butterscotch chips (if you are using those) over the toffee and once again spread to an even layer with a spatula.   For this batch I used the chocolate/butterscotch mix on 1/4 of the pan and sprinkled the coconut over 1/2 of the pan to see which mixture I liked the best.  My next batch I will all three toppings on the whole pan as it is super super yummylicious!

The Coconut reminded me of snow!  Very festive!

Almost nothing better than melty chocolate!

Let the decorated pan cool for 5-10 minutes and then place the whole pan in the fridge for 45 minutes or until everything has hardened.  Then peel off the foil and crack the Delight into whatever size pieces you want and store in a tightly sealed container in the fridge or freezer until you are ready to devour!

HAPPY SODA CRACKER DELIGHTING!!!  YAY!

