For the next few weeks I will be doing a series of holiday treats and yummies that you can make and enjoy with friends this holiday season!  This is the first post and it is a very simple cookie that tastes absolutely extraordinary!
These fabulous wonders were first introduced to me in high school!  A good friend of our family and one of my second mother’s, Mother Mott, made these for us as we were studying after school.  She called them Youth Group Cookies and I thought they were SO good I didn’t know what to do with myself!   Since then my family has made these many many times and will continue to!
One of my most special memories of these cookies is making these with my cousin Colter Brown!  He and I are very close and making these cookies became a semi-tradition whenever we got to be together…and somehow in that tradition…we renamed them Charlies!  So this post is dedicated to Mother Mott…and to my wonderful cousin Colter!  LOVE YOU GUYS!

CHARLIES
  • 1 Devils Foods Cake Mix ( you can actually use any kind of cake mix depending on what flavor of cookie you would like)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil

CREAM CHEESE FROSTING

  • 3 Tbls Softened Butter
  • 4 oz or 1/2 block of softened Cream Cheese
  • 1 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 3 Cups Powdered Sugar

The First step is to mix the three Charlie Ingredients together until a dough forms.  Don’t over mix too much!

Then you simply form small balls of dough rolling them into the same size in your hand.  Make sure your cookies are all about the same size.  You can make the cookies as big or little as you like….I try to keep them very small as they are pretty rich!  I can get about 25 finished cookies out of this recipe if I make them small enough.

This step is important to getting nice flat cookies.  Take a small cup or shot glass and dip the bottom in flour (so it doesn’t stick) and gently press down on your round little cookie dough balls until you have flattened them into about the size of a fifty cent piece (or a bit larger).

Bake these for about 8-9 minutes or until done and immediately take them off of the  cookie sheet and cool them on a rack or paper towel.

While They are cooling, you can make your frosting.  I am not going to lie and say that I have NEVER used store bought cream cheese frosting on these…which makes them the easiest cookies in the world, but the homemade frosting really puts them over the top!

Mix together the cream cheese, butter, vanilla and Heavy Cream on medium to high speed until well incorporated.  Then slowly add in the powdered sugar and beat until all of the lumps are out.  You might just have to turn your mixer on high and leave it to beat for a few minutes, but eventually it will become a smooth and delicious frosting!

This Frosting Recipe does make about 2 cups and is too much frosting for the cookies themselves.  I save mine in the freezer and pull it out whenever I need it.  This particular batch of leftover is bound for some Christmas Morning Cinnamon Rolls!

Now is the fun part!  Put a lovely dollop of frosting on one Cookie Half and gently press a matching sized cookie on Top.  Put these on a tray in the freezer ASAP so that they can harden up a bit and so the frosting doesn’t ooze out everywhere!  I personally prefer these cookies right out of the freezer as they are super chewy and taste almost like a little ice cream sandwhich when they are really cold!  However, they are good at room temperature as well.

HAPPY CHARLIEING and Merry December to each of you!

