HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!!

I am thankful for many things this year including my family, friends, and each and every one of you who takes the time to read this blog and support and encourage me!  It really means a lot when you visit, leave a comment and make my recipes!  So THANKS TO YOU!!!  Now on to the recipe!

I had a can of pumpkin in my cubboard that was saying to me, “hey…it’s NOVEMBER!  Use me in something delicious!!!”  So who am I to deny a can of pumpkin its very destiny!  I wasn’t really in the mood for pumpkin bread or pumpkin pie (we are not really crust people) so I decided to try something new!  Pumpkin Pudding!

Pumpkin Pudding it turns out is very much like Pumpkin Pie filling which worked out great for us as that is my favorite part of the pie anyway!  However I did want to spice it up a bit as this was the only destiny this can of pumpkin was EVER going to have and FAR be it from me to let little Pumpy (yes I named the can of pumpkin) down!  SO, I decided to put a Crisp topping much like the kind my mother uses on her Thanksgiving sweet potatoes, on top of my Pumpy Pudding.  However I did not have any Pecans handy so substituted a little bit of crushed toffee for some crunch!  The result was this DELICIOUS and Very Simple concoction that may just become a fall tradition in our family and a future destiny of many Can’s of Pumpkin!  Lucky little devils!

PUMPKIN PUDDING

  • 1 15-16 oz can pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar packed
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 eggs lightly beaten
  • 1 cup heavy cream (naughty but so very nice too!)
  • 3/4 cup milk ( I used 1 %)

Toffee Crisp Topping

  • 1/2 Cup brown Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Flour
  • 1/3 Cup toffee bits (crushed up heath bar in my case)
  • 6 Tbls cold butter
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

First step is to mix your pudding.  This literally took about 3 minutes…it is a very easy recipe!  Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and then mix all of the pudding ingredients together in your mixer and mix to combine.

Make sure to mix well enough that there are no big clumps of spice in there.  It is not very appetizing to bite into a clump of cinnamon.  Then Butter your casserole dish or spray it with cooking spray.  If you have a 1 1/2 quart-2 quart casserole dish you can pour the whole mix in that.  I used two 1 quart casserole dishes as I wanted to give one away. (Whether or not we ended up eating both will remain a mystery ok!)

Bake these beautiful Pumpy Puddings for 40-50 minutes or 55-60 minutes if baking only 1 larger pudding.   I baked them for 20 minutes before adding on the Crispy topping.  For the Topping simply mix all of the ingredients together making sure the Butter is well incorporated.  I used a pastry cutter for this job.

Then remove the partially baked puddings from the oven and evenly distribute the topping over the entire pudding.  Promptly place back in the oven and cook until an inserted butter knife comes out clean.

When we took these out of the oven, we were supposed to let them cool, but could not resist taking a little bite from the corner.  IT WAS SO GOOD that we ended up having a portion while still warm which was delicious!  However, it is EVEN better chilled so after it cools cover and place in the fridge.  The Crisp Topping remains Crisp and it is SO GOOD topped with a little (or a lot) of whipped cream!  YUM!


HAPPY THANKSGIVING AND HAPPY PUMPY PUDDYING!!!!

