I do believe that CUTE food often tastes better than not cute food. Maybe that is why I love sliders so very much, because they are so darn Cute! I first had a version of these burgers at our friends the Garey’s for dinner. My friend Vanessa served us these amazing turkey burgers and since then I have made them many times for a quick and healthy dinner and changed up the recipe a bit here and there. It is really a basic burger recipe that you could flavor however you like…this is just one delicious option!

I chose to make this particular batch of burgers into Sliders as my husband had just bought me this slider press from Crate and Barrel and I wanted to try it out.

I do realize that I could simply form smaller burgers with my hands to create sliders, but seeing them all laid out the same size and so amazingly cute was totally worth the $12.99 or whatever he spent on the silly gadget!

So to celebrate the kickoff of football season, we cheered on our Seattle Seahawks to a win with Sliders in hand and the feta ranch sauce dripping down our chins. Both my dad and husband were making happy food noises while eating these…so I am taking that as a good sign!  Also, please let me know what you think if you try them…I would love to hear from YOU!!!

SPINACH FETA TURKEY BURGERS

  • 1 lb Ground Turkey
  • 1/4 cup Italian Bread Crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1 Tsp Onion Salt
  • 1 Tsp Johnny’s Seasoning salt
  • Salt and pepper more to your own taste
  • 8 oz frozen spinach thawed and thoroughly  drained ( I actually wring mine out to get rid of all the water)
  • 2/3 Cup Feta Cheese Crumbles
  • 2 Tbls Olive Oil

First step is simply to mix your burgers together.  You will want to mix just enough to incorporate all of your ingredients, and be careful to not overmix.  I personally mix all of my spices, bread crumbs and egg together first and then add in the spinach and feta cheese.

Once it is mixed, form into whatever size of patties you would like.  I did sliders today, but this mix will make 4-5 regular size burgers or approximately 12 sliders.  Feel free to simply form the patties with your very clean hands, or you can use a nifty little slider gadget to make them all Cutsie and the same size.  Form all of your patties before you start grilling so that you don’t have to keep getting your hands all dirty.

Sorry for all the pictures of raw meat burgers…but they were just so stinking CUTE!  haha.

Ok…back to business.  Grill the burgers approx 3 minutes on each side or until cooked all the way through.  I did the grilling inside on my grill pan which worked great!

I served these with a slice of fresh garden tomatoes and a healthy slathering of my Feta Ranch Sauce.  Feel free to use whatever condiments sound good to you, but this particular sauce is SO YUMMY that you have to try it!  It is good on lots of things…not just these burgers!

FETA RANCH SAUCE

  • 2/3 cup Light or Fat Free Sour Cream
  • 2 Tbls Mayo
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 1/2-2 Tbls Uncle Dan’s Ranch Powder Mix
  • 1/3 cup Feta Cheese Crumbles

For my Bread choice, I used a toasted Garlic Naan Bread, but you could use any sort of bun or pita or whatever sounds good to you!

Happy Slidering!

