Ok…this recipe is SOOOO easy, and SOOOOO good!  If you are a lover of cheese and brie, you have got to try this one.  Purple Wine Bar is a restaurant here in Seattle that has a really fun menu, and one time, I tried their fabulous Baked Brie and this is my attempt at recreating that most delicious of appetizers!   I have made this for parties, bridal showers, baby showers, and just for dinner and every ounce of it is always devoured right before my eyes!  You can use any Brie in this recipe, but the softer and meltier the better in my book!  If you cannot have Dairy, you can even use a Goat cheese brie to make this.  I have done that before while cooking this for my family, a few of which are lactose intolerant.

I usually use a homemade apricot jam in this, made by my wonderful mother.  However, you can use any good apricot preserve you have or I know that seedless raspberry or plum jam would be good with this as well!  I am doing a double batch blog today, showing one baked brie with Apricot Jam, and the other with a Fig Spread in it.  YUMMMM….my mouth is watering and I think I will now take a break to go and eat a few more bites of the Baked Gooey Goddess that is sitting on my table!  Be back in a Jiff!


Ok…back to write and finish this recipe!

What you need for 1 Baked Brie

  • 4 Sheets Phyllo Dough (not puff pastry….though that might be yummy too….)
  • 1/4 cup Apricot jam or Fig Preserves or Seedless Raspberry Jam or Plum Jam….you get the point!  Use what sounds good to you!  I almost always use Apricot because I think it is SO good with the onions and cheese!
  • 1/2 cup Red Onion thinly sliced
  • 5 Tbls Butter
  • 1 Tbls Brown Sugar
  • 6-10 Oz of Brie…depending on what ratio of cheese to jam/onion you are looking for.  I use about 8 oz.
  • Crackers or toasted Crostini to serve with the Brie…I prefer a thin rosemary cracker
  • grapes or thinly sliced apples to serve along side (optional but delicious!)
  • a nice White Wine isn’t bad with this either if you are having a party or romantic dinner for two…or any reason really! (totally optional)

Now the first step is to caramelize the onions.  Melt 1 Tbls of Butter over low-medium heat.  Add in the onions and sautee for 1-2 minutes until the onions are softened and beginning to smell really good!  Add in the 1 Tbls of Brown Sugar and then mix all together and continue to cook for another minute until caramelized!

Now that you have your onions prepared, keep them handy next to wherever you are going to prep your Brie.  Melt the remaining butter in a microwave safe dish and also have that handy to the prep area.  Now is also the time to Cut the Rind off of your Brie.  I remove it because it has a really strong flavor that some people don’t enjoy, and also when you leave it on, the brie does not get quite as melty and gooey and oozy which is a shame!  I have a picture below of the Brie before and after I have removed the Rind.  When getting your Brie ready, wait until you are ready to assemble before taking it out of the fridge, so it will not get too soft and sticky when you are trying to cut the rind off.

Now get your Phyllo Dough out of the fridge and roll it out, keeping it covered so it doesn’t dry out, except for when you are getting a new sheet to work with.  Don’t be afraid of Phyllo dough…it is pretty easy to work with as long as it doesn’t dry out and start cracking everywhere.

Now you are READY to assemble the Magic!  Place one sheet of phyllo dough down on your work surface and lightly brush the edges and middle with the melted butter.  Add another layer on top and repeat till you have the four sheets layered.  Do not butter the 4th sheet on top.

Now you are ready to add in the fillings.  I start with some caramelized onions on the bottom and then add in Jam on the top.  Then comes the Brie topped with more caramelized onions and one more layer of Jam.  I will show the final product of both the Apricot and Fig versions of the filling!

This would look a little prettier if I had used a round of Brie instead of a Triangle, but the taste is the same….and the ooziness of this particular Brie caught my eye!

Apricot…Yes!

Fig…yum!

Now it is time to fold it up in a nice little baking package.  You can get baking twine and tie it up in a nice little package, but I prefer the more rustic (and easier) approach of just folding it up like so….

Now from this stage, I flip it over so all of this folded stuff is on the bottom and brush the top with melted butter.  Here are my two finished Brie Babies ready for the oven.  I marked the top of each with a small dollop of the jam that is also inside!


Now it is time to bake these little packages of liquid gold and get ready to enjoy!  Preheat the oven to 360 degrees and bake for 12 minutes and then check them.  You want them to be golden brown on top and oozing goodness.  Don’t be alarmed if the package bursts open in the oven and starts pouring out deliciousness because you will be able to scoop up all of that goodness and do a little quality control before you serve the dish…haha!

um….YUM

Now I serve these up on a nice long platter and add in the crackers and grapes around it to make it look pretty.  Usually though, the oozing cheese is enough to get people excited and salivating!

So this will be my last post for a few weeks as I am off for a trip to Maylaisa and Thailand with my honey and my parents.  If I find any great new recipes over there I will be sure to Blog about them when I get back.  Until then!  Happy Baked Brieing! (don’t think that is actually a word!)  Please let me know if you try this and what you think!  Thanks!

