Now Peach Crisp is a fairly common dessert that I make fairly often due to my husband’s devotion to all things peachy and crispy!  But for this 60th Birthday Celebration, I wanted to make it extra special, as it was a specific request from my father-in-law.  I decided to focus on the Crisp topping as this is usually the make it or break it part of the dessert.  My experiment was to add some chopped Butterscotch chips in with the topping and the result was quite delicious I must say!  It sort of tasted like a Butterscotch-Oatmeal Cookie topping!  So if any of you are looking to mix it up a bit with your Crispy toppings, here is a recipe for you!  I think it could also be good with an apple Crisp.  I remembered to take some pictures of this one, but we only had my husband’s I-Phone for a camera at the moment, so forgive me if the pictures aren’t the best! Happy Crisping!

PEACH FILLING

  • 6 Cups of Peeled, Sliced Peaches (or Apples)
  • 1 Tbls Lemon Juice
  • 4 Tbls Flour
  • dash of salt
  • 3/4 Cup Sugar
  • 1/4 tsp Cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 400 Degrees

Mix all of the ingredients together….yes this is an easy recipe!  Then pour the peach filling into a 13X9 baking dish, and try to create as flat of a top as possible to sprinkle your Crisp Topping upon.

CRISP TOPPING

  • 1/2 Cup Cold Butter (1 stick)
  • 1 and 1/4 Cup Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 1 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Oats
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1/4 Cup of Butterscotch Chips ( or more if you like)

Mix all of the ingredients together except the Butter and Butterscotch Chips.  Mix Well with a Fork.  Cut the cold stick of butter into chunks and sprinkle throughout the dry ingredients.  Cut the Butter into the mix with a pastry cutter or better yet, your hands!  Mix it in until the Butter is well incorporated and the biggest visible pieces of butter are about the size of peas.  Chop/mince up the Butterscotch Chips to whatever size you like and mix them into the mix.  Now evenly distribute the topping all over your Peach Filling and start feeling very happy with yourself…at least I always do at this point!  haha.

Bake for 25-40 Minutes until brown and bubbly.  Serve hot or cold and I recommend some Vanilla Ice Cream with it….yummy!   It also makes a delicious breakfast the next morning!

This is the Pan while cooling….apparently someone took a little bite out of the corner!  OH WAIT…that was me!

