I am back to blogging after a 4 month break!  I had my sweet baby boy in July and he has quickly won my heart!  I have been spending the majority of my time with him, but now that he is taking longer naps…I am having a bit more time to spend cooking and blogging!  This dessert is simply amazing!  It is a perfect late summer/early fall dish and and a great finish to any meal!  This recipe is very similar to other crisps that I have made with one additional surprise ingredient added to the topping.  I think you will really enjoy it!  Also thanks for sticking with me even though I haven’t posted in awhile!

BLUEBERRY PEAR CRISP

  • 5 cups of fruit, I used 3 large pears peeled and sliced and filled the rest in with sweet fresh blueberries.
  • 3 Tbls of Flour
  • 3/4 cup of Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp of Cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 Tbls Lemon Juice
  • dash of salt
TOPPING
  • 1/2 Cup butter chilled and cubed
  • 3/4 cup of Flour
  • 2/3 cup of Sugar
  • 1 packet of instant oatmeal (I used strawberry oatmeal)
First step is to prep your fruit!  You want to use pears that are ripe but still firm because if they are too soft, they won’t hold their shape after cooking.  Then you add in the rest of the filling ingredients and gently stir to combine!

This recipe can make one big crisp or 4-5 individual Crisps.  I used ramekins to make individual crisps for this batch!  It is so fun to have a whole “mini” crisp all to yourself!  Divide your fruit evenly between all of your ramekins and get ready to make your topping!

I, like most people, think that the crispy crunchy topping is the best part of a Crisp!  What you do is just mix the Crisp ingredients together making sure the butter is cold when you start!  I find that using your hands for this part works the best!  I found with the addition of the oatmeal that this turned almost into a cookie dough consistency.   You can actually see the bits of strawberry in this from the Strawberry Oatmeal!  YUM!

Now cover each ramekin of fruit with the topping mixture trying to cover each and every piece of fruit!

Now bake them at 400 degrees for 25-35 minutes or until brown and bubbly!  I put the ramekins on a cookie sheet so that you can take them all out of the oven together and rotate them in the oven easily if you needed to.

As with all Crisps, a scoop of Vanilla Ice cream is the perfect companion and will be sure to bring a smile to the face of the recipient!  Just look how happy our friend James looks in this picture!

And my husband was pretty happy too!  haha

I hope you will try this recipe and let me know what you think!  You can really put any fruit in this and it would turn out delicious but the Pear and blueberry combo was fantastic!

Happy Crisping!

