I am a firm believer that Crock Pots are one of the seven wonders of the world.  You can put almost any combo of meat, veggies, legumes and herbs in there and when you come back hours later….it will have turned into some fabulous version of FLAVOR TOWN!!!  I know if you have never used a Crock Pot…they might seem intimidating but I promise…it is one of the easiest, time-saving and friendly tools in your kitchen!   I threw this particular combo in the pot around 11:00AM  and when my husband got home around 6:00 PM, all we had to do was scoop the goodness into our bowls and partake together!  I hope you will give it a try and let me know what you think!

RED WINE BRAISED PORK ROAST WITH VEGGIES

  • 1 Pork Loin Roast or any kind of meat would work!
  • 6 Medium Potatoes.  I used Red cause I LOVE them!
  • 1 Onion
  • 6-8 Carrots
  • 1/4 Cup Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Cup of Flour
  • 1-2 Tbls of Italian Seasoning
  • 2 Cups of Red Wine
  • 1-2 Tbls Garlic Powder
  • Salt and Pepper to your taste!  (remember you can always add more at the end)

First step is to chop up your veggies in prep for the pot!

Now mix the flour and as much of the the garlic salt and pepper and italian seasonings as you like and then take your Pork Roast and dredge it in your mix of flour and spices which will create a nice crust of flavor to add into the pot!  Also the flour will help to thicken the liquid that will gather in the crock pot later on!

Now heat a pan with your olive oil and brown all sides of your dredged Pork Roast until you get a nice Golden Brown Crust of FLAVOR!

Now take some of your veggies and create a base for your Roast to sit on in the Crock Pot.  Then Place your Roast on top of the veggies and the surround the roast with the rest of the Veggies till it is tucked in all nice and Cozy like!

Then feel free to season liberally the whole mix in the Pot!    

Now it is time to take the Flavor to the NEXT LEVEL!   Take 1 Cup of the Red Wine and deglaze the pan that you seared the Roast in.  This involves just pouring the wine into the hot pan and swirling it round till it picks up all of the flavor bits left by the pork!

Then Pour this lovely luscious liquid all over the the Pork and Veggies and then pour the second cup of Wine in as well…just for good measure!

You may just now be getting a sense of how yummy this is gonna be after cooking all together for 5-6 hours…but PLEASE…do not drool on your computer or keyboard while looking at the next pictures.  I hear that liquid is NOT good for technology!

After a few hours…this is the fabulous meal that will await you…and let me promise you…it will be fabulous!

I admit, I did lick this next picture on my computer and it tasted GOOD…that is how strong and amazing these flavors are!

I hope you will try this out in your CrockPot and enjoy it as much as we did!

Happy Braised Pork Roasting!

