The fall season in Seattle has been GORGEOUS thus far with lots of Beautiful Fall colors and sunny fall days!  However, this week has been very cold and rainy making warm comforting meals sound really good every single night!  After a rainy drive home from church, we arrived home chilled and hungry!  Not wanting to wait an hour for lunch I needed to make something quick and warm to feed my Chris, my friend, and myself!  I knew just the thing…at least I thought I did.  I had actually never made this dish before…oh well!  I just went ahead with it and hoped for the best…and it turned out pretty good!

I first saw this recipe  for Taiwanese Pork Noodles at Steamy Kitchen and thought I simply had to try it!  I changed a couple things and added a few things to make it my own and the result was a quick (25 minutes from start to finish) and light recipe that was really yummy and great for any cold day when you don’t want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen!  It is actually EVEN Better the next day warmed up as leftovers!

Taiwanese Chicken Noodles

  • 1 1b ground Chicken ( you can definitely use Pork, but I didn’t have any…so this became Taiwanese CHICKEN noodles!)
  • 1 package rice noodles (any noodles would work, I used the same noodles I use for my Pad Thai)
  • 2 Tbls of Olive oil or Vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce (use gluten free soy sauce to keep this recipe gluten free)
  • 1/2 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup wam water
  • 2 Tbls brown sugar
  • 2 Shallots minced (you can use an onion if that is what you have!)
  • 2 Tbls minced garlic
  • 1 Tbls grated fresh ginger
  • 1-2 Cinnamon Sticks
  • 2 Star Anise
  • 1 1/2 Tbls Siracha hot sauce.  (this adds a nice depth of flavor and doesn’t make it too spicy!  Add more at the table if you want it really spicy)
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro

The first step is to Prep your Rice noodles.  Bring 6 cups of water to a boil and add your noodles.  Boil for 2 minutes and then remove the pan from the heat and let the noodles continue to cook in the hot water for 2 more minutes.  Immediately put your noodles directly into an ice water bath to stop the cooking.  After two minutes, drain the noodles and set aside.

It is now also time to prep this very simple sauce.  Whisk together the soy sauce, rice vinegar, warm water, brown sugar and grated ginger, making sure the sugar dissolves.  A good tip is to keep your ginger in the freezer which makes it really easy to grate whenever you need to use a bit.

Now is the time to make your Chicken yumminess!  Heat 2 Tbls of Olive Oil in a skillet and then add in your shallots, garlic, Cinnamon Stick and Star Anise.  Saute and stir this mix together for about a minute until fragrant!  This was one of my first times using Star Anise and it was kind of fun!  It smells just like black licorice!  However, it adds a unique flavor to this dish and doesn’t make it taste like licorice at all…don’t worry all you black licorice haters out there!

Once delicious smells start perfuming the air, add in your chicken meat and cook until browning and cooked all the way through…about 3-4 minutes!

Now it is time to add in your Sauce.  Pour your Ginger Soy Sauce mix over the chicken and let simmer for 8-10 minutes stirring every once in awhile.

You can either mix your noodles into this mix or pour individual servings of the meat sauce over noodles in bowls.  If you do mix the whole mess together, be careful not to cook the noodles too much more, or they will get mushy, which is no fun for anyone especially the noodles! haha

I chose to garnish with some fresh herbs and used green onions and cilantro!  They really added a lot of nice fresh flavor to this dish.  You can also serve with red pepper flakes and more Siracha at the table for those who like to BURN Their Faces Off (shout out to my Papa and James R!).  You could also serve some Fired Broccoli along side this if you would like!   I hope you enjoy this dish and that it makes some of your cold afternoons and evenings just a little bit more enjoyable!

Happy Taiwanese Chicken Noodling!

